Ogden Nash on Grackles

Common Grackle as painted by J.J. Audubon

Common Grackle as painted by J.J. Audubon

A Common Grackle yelled at me in the backyard this morning, as if it were my fault that it snowed last night.  I like grackles.  In fact, I never met a bird yet that I didn’t like.  I even like vultures.  But grackles grate on the nerves of some.  Here, for instance, is Ogden Nash on the subject.

The Grackle

The grackle’s voice is less than mellow,
His heart is black, his eye is yellow,
He bullies more attractive birds
With hoodlum deeds and vulgar words,
And should a human interfere,
Attacks that human in the rear.
I cannot help but deem the grackle
An ornithological debacle.

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Ogden Nash on Grackles”

  1. DOMINO Says:

    Heh! Funny.

    And wow… I really like your blog header or whatever that is up at top with the title on it. I usually don’t notice such things.

Leave a Reply

