Schrodt Hummingbird Feeder–Gone the Way of the Dodo?

A great loss to the world of hummingbird feeders happened when
Schrodt Designs, a small Ashland, Oregon company got swallowed by The Backyard Brands Inc. Schrodt made beautiful bird feeders. Their crown jewel was a Ruby-Faceted Hummingbird Feeder which you see here. bfs01a.jpg

Some hummingbird feeders are functional. Some are beautiful. Only one or two are beautiful AND functional. This feeder is one of them. Not only is it gorgeous; it is extremely popular with hummingbirds — which is the point, after all. We have five different hummingbird feeders in our yard and the Schrodt feeder is always empty first and always has the most birds feeding from it.

At least a year ago, Backyard Brands, based in Fulton, Illinois, bought Schrodt and has not supplied the feeder to its vendors since. We call Backyard and hear that the feeder will be shipped in two weeks, or six months, or one month, or next week, or in two months. At least that’s what we hear on that rare occasion we reach a human being. Judging from their unanswered telephone tree, they must be very busy or have a moribund service department. Once a human being told us that there is a “quality control” problem with their plant in Taiwan. By now, someone from Backyard Brands could have swum to Asia and fixed the problem. Or found a supplier in the U.S. or just given the business back to Schrodt.

We begin to doubt that we’ll ever see this feeder again. For now, if you have one of these fine feeders; cherish it, as it may be extinct before long.

6 Responses to “Schrodt Hummingbird Feeder–Gone the Way of the Dodo?”

  1. Catherine Says:

    I have had a similar problem with this company. For three months (Spring ’07), I attempted to purchase another beautiful Schrodt hummingbird feeder. After numerous email and phone attempts at communication and promises of shipment, I finally contacted my credit card company to have them file a claim on my behalf. My company graciously refunded my money immediately.

  2. Todd Says:

    Im pretty sure that “backyard brands” or “Wildwood Farms” in Fulton, Illinois is either out of buisiness or definintely should be. They still owe me about $13,000 for materials & shipping they purchased a year ago and never paid for. About impossible to get a hold of. What a joke of a company! I would avoid these guys like the plague and buy your bird & squirel feeders elsewhere.

    Good Luck!

  3. John Says:

    We’ve had a similar experience. But we were told that the line was outsourced to China, and that shipments wouldn’t arrive until late July. To which I responded, just cancel my order as Hummer Fdr purchases would be 90% completed by consumers at that late date. I was hoping to bring some in for Christmas but called and got no answer. The company may as well be out of business, if in fact they are not.

  4. Dodo Bird Says:

    Wonderful looking feeder, sorry to hear they disappear. Never had one like this, but I agree with you 100%. Very nice feeder

  5. Deb McClain Says:

    I too share your frustration at not being able to purchase more of these great feeders. I’ve not gone as far as you have in trying to purchase more of them, but I have hounded my local birding store to the point that they just shake their heads when I walk in. If you have a site, I would love to send you a few photos of my happy customers in my back yard dining on their feeders of choice. Please keep me in mind should you ever locate a source for these feeders. I will take any color!!

  6. David Says:

    I don’t know why, but it seems to attract more hummers than any of my other hummingbird feeders. These feeders are so beautiful, I’m really glad they are available again.

Leave a Reply

